Call for proposalsInternational Collaboration

(CALL CLOSED) ERA-MIN 3 Joint Call 2021 is open

ERA-MIN3 is a global, innovative and flexible pan-European network of 24 European/non-European research funding organisations, aiming to continue strengthening the mineral raw materials community through the coordination of research and innovation programmes on non-fuel and non-food raw materials (metallic, construction, and industrial minerals). The EU co-funded ERA-MIN Joint Call 2021 is the first joint call of ERA-MIN3 which is co-funded by the European Commission.

Technology Agency of the Czech Republic (TA CR) will support successful Czech applicants and their projects with the amount of 1 000 000 EUR. Both enterprises and research organizations can apply for TACR funding. Funding rules for the Czech applicants are defined by a funding programme EPSILON. The deadline for submission of pre-proposals is 1 April 202117:00 CET.

The scope of the 2021 Call is needs-driven research addressing non-fuel, non-food raw materials: metallic minerals; construction materials; industrial minerals. The five main call topics, and the subtopics, are:

Topic 1. Supply of raw materials from exploration and mining
Topic 2. Circular Design
Topic 3. Processing, Production and Remanufacturing
Topic 4. Recycling and Re-use of End-of-Life Products Recycling and Re-use of End-of-Life Products
Topic 5. Cross-cutting topics: proposals that address all innovations, also non-technological, to support the transformation to a circular economy regarding:
– New business models (implementing circular economy aspects)
– Improvement of methods or data for environmental impact assessment
– Social acceptance and trust/public perception of raw materials
– Health safety issues

This call for proposals is aimed at all actors in the raw materials value chain, including universities, research institutes, companies, non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and public authorities that can contribute to the objectives of ERA-MIN3 and who meet the eligibility criteria, as well as national/regional regulations.

A consortium must consist of at least three project partners eligible and requesting funding from the participating Funding Organisations of at least three different countries whereof at least two are an EU Member State or an Associated Country participating in the Call. Please note that not all participating Funding Organisations are the EU Member States, namely Canada (Québec) and South Africa and the only EU Associated Country participating in the call is Turkey.

For more information please consult the complete Call Text.

EU countries/regions and research funding organisations:

Belgium-Flanders (FWO and Hermesfond/VLAIO); Belgium-Wallonia (SPW-Recherche); Bulgaria (BNSF); Czech Republic (TA CR); Estonia (ETAg); Finland (Business Finland); France (ADEME and ANR); Germany (BMBF/JÜLICH); Ireland (GSI/EPA), Italy (MUR); Poland (NCBR); Portugal (FCT); Romania (UEFISCDI); Slovakia (SAS); Slovenia (MIZS); Spain (AEI and CDTI); Spain – Navarra (CFNA); Sweden (Vinnova).

EU Associated country: Turkey (TUBITAK)

Non-EU countries: Canada-Québec (PRIMA-Québec) and South-Africa (DSI).

Online partner search tools are available here or you can use TA CR Partnering Tool.

For more information visit and